Ryan Beedie to officially be inducted into the Order of British Columbia.


(PROVINCE OF BRITISH COLUMBIA) — Thirty-one exceptional people will be invested into the Order of British Columbia during a ceremony at Government House on Thursday, March 3, 2022, at 6 p.m.

Recipients from 2020, 2021 and three recipients unable to attend their ceremonies in previous years will be honoured.

“As chancellor of the Order of British Columbia, I am honoured to share congratulations to all being invested into the order,” stated Janet Austin, lieutenant governor of British Columbia. “Your contributions to your communities and to the province are remarkable, and this recognition of your service to British Columbians is richly deserved. I look forward to the investiture and the opportunity to celebrate all new members.”

“Congratulations to the newest members of the Order of B.C. Thank you for your passion, your hard work and the gifts you share with others,” said Premier John Horgan. “Your achievements and accomplishments create a better B.C. for us all.”

Recipients being invested this evening are:

  • Chief Joe Alphonse of 150 Mile House
  • The late Shashi Assanand of Richmond
  • Joe Average, MGC, of Vancouver
  • Brenda Baptiste of Osoyoos (virtual)
  • Ryan Beedie of West Vancouver
  • Frances Belzberg, OC, of Vancouver
  • Dr. Gary Birch, OC, of Vancouver (virtual)
  • Dr. Debra Braithwaite of Victoria
  • Michael Bublé of Burnaby (virtual)
  • Shirley Chan of Vancouver
  • Neil Cook, MGC, of Cranbrook
  • Jane Coop, CM, of Vancouver
  • Ajay Dilawri of Vancouver
  • Debra Doucette of North Vancouver
  • Paul George of Gibsons
  • Rusty Goepel, of Vancouver
  • Dr. Bonnie Henry of Victoria
  • John Horton of Delta
  • Dr. Mel Krajden of Vancouver
  • Carol A. Lee of Vancouver
  • Dr. James McEwen, OC, of Vancouver
  • Brian Minter, CM, of Chilliwack
  • Dr. Janet Nadine Mort of Central Saanich
  • Professor Andrew Petter, CM, QC of Victoria
  • Tracy Porteous of Victoria
  • Dr. Dolph Schluter of Vancouver
  • Arran and Ratana Stephens of Vancouver
  • Marvin Storrow, QC, of Vancouver
  • Carole Taylor, OC, of Vancouver
  • Ruth Williams of Kamloops

The Order of B.C. is the Province’s highest honour. Since its inception in 1989, 475 British Columbians have been appointed to the Order from all regions of the province.

As well as the Order of B.C., people may nominate individuals for the Medal of Good Citizenship. The medal recognizes citizens for their exceptional long-term service and contributions to their communities without expectation of remuneration or reward. The medal reflects their generosity, service, acts of selflessness and contributions to community life. Nominations are accepted year-round.


To view the full article, click here.